Academic Programs


Residential students who choose the teaching emphasis will take a set of four courses focused on areas such as pedagogy and curriculum development. These courses will only be available to those who choose teaching as their emphasis, and there will be no difference in tuition cost. The teaching emphasis will function as a cohort group and the first offering of these courses will begin in June 2014. 

The teaching emphasis is completed through a partnership with Earlham College's Master of Arts in Teaching program. M.Div. students begin the emphasis in the summer of their second year (after having taken Discernment of Call and Gifts). 

Required courses for this emphasis include:

  1. ED 520 Foundations in Education (offered in early June)

  2. ED 522 Learning Theories (offered in fall semester)

  3. ED 531 Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment (offered in fall semester)

The fourth course required for the emphasis may be chosen from:

  1. ED 520 Human and Moral Development (offered in late June)

  2. ED 591 Teacher as Researcher (offered in fall semester)

  3. Or a related course from the ESR or Bethany curriculum